Suhr :: View topic - 2 Standards need help

Suhr Forum Index

Suhr
The Official Suhr Forum

www.Suhr.com

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 

2 Standards need help

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Misho

PostPosted: Mon Dec 23, 2019 4:12 am    Post subject: 2 Standards need help Reply with quote

Hi, newbie here, nice to meet You and sorry in advance for a really long post.
I have a lot of questions that I need answers Smile
It's about my 2 Suhr guitars that are bought used.
First one is stock Pro series S3, HSS with non recessed 510 2 post tremolo.
SSH+ and 2 FL single coils
What i would like to add to it is humbacker split, so I have optional single coil sound in bridge position.
What is Suhr's suggestion for this?
What parts, push pull pots etc I need to buy? And what wiring?
Also at this moment I have problem with getting good bridge/middle position sound. It's not stratty-quacky as I would like it to to be.
It's a bit too agressive on clean sound, too trebly.
I bought it with heavily altered setup, so I would love to get it back to factory setup or as close as possible.
Pickup height, action, everything was messed up.
For me, floating tremolo, not extremely low action would be ok.

Another guitar is Standard Custom
Gotoh Floyd Rose bridge with Tremol-no, recessed, HSH with Aldrich humbackers, V60 middle.
First thing, this guitar is also heavily messed up setup wise, so I need suggestions how to get it back to factory setup as well.
I never had Tremol-no before so I cant directly compare, but bridge on this guitar feels stiff, it's not as live and reactive as I expect Floyd Rose to be, it doesn't flutter/gargle...
Electronics-wise I would also like to add humbacker splitting option, so I can get single coil sounds from bridge and neck, also suggestions and ideas for different wiring options are more then welcome, I saw Guthrie Govan Suhr wiring and it is really interesting, what else can be done?